Rant

Ok, I have been doing my best not to become political on this blog, I vote on what I believe in, sign petitions, and try to keep up on the important issues, but I am tired. These recent gun related homicides, gang rapes of unconscious young women, and all the laws being passed to invade my healthcare options — and the future options offered to my daughters; they are all so exhausting. Heartbreaking to see that people are fighting to protect the GUNS that killed innocent children at their school, the assault rifles used to mow down a movie theater, and the part people want to protect are the GUNS?

What the ever loving FUCK is wrong with these people? I am fairly certain that our Founding Fathers would have protested in the streets if they encountered these same instances, not whined or complained that someone was trying to take away their weapons. Oh get over yourselves GOP party members, the NRA has their tentacles so far into your business that we can’t tell you apart anymore. You have morphed into a hateful, greedy and self-serving group of privileged old men. Actually I correct myself, I am certain this is how you have always been, but now that society is changing for the better, your true identities are running out of places to hide.

We are no longer a country who provides for its people, you have been doing your damnedest to turn it into a theocracy where we are the serfs who jump at your commands, while you sit on piles of money, screw whoever you like, and caress your assault rifles. You can fuck off, this is NOT the world I want my daughters to inherit.

I don’t want them to die in some back alley clinic getting an illegal abortion because you happily support the rights of an unborn clump of cells over their lives.

I don’t want them to watch the news one day to find out that the school where their children go has been shot up by some right-wing nutjob who enjoys weapons so much they want to spread the love.

I don’t want them to grow up hating their bodies, fearing their reproductive abilities, and believing that the desire to have sex makes them a slut.

I don’t want them to be raped and told “oh well, your bad for being a girl, shouldn’t have worn (insert article of clothing) and went to (insert destination). You should have known better.” Being blamed for being “too alluring” or “he got turned on and couldn’t help himself” is a shitty way to learn about the birds and the bees. Rape is NEVER ok, no matter the genders of the people involved, repeat after me, NEVER EVER OK!!! Got it? I never want my girls to feel the pain and shame that I felt, where even trusted church mentors turned on me in my time of need, when I had no one else to turn to.

I especially don’t want my girls to live in fear of becoming pregnant from rape. Currently in 31 states of our fine country rapists are able to sue the victim for parental rights and access to any child conceived from the attack. I don’t want my daughters to watch a pregnancy test change to a positive, knowing how the child was created, and have to wonder if this baby can be used against them.

I don’t want my daughters to be heckled if they have to make this choice to get an abortion by your sheeple followers throwing signs of bloody corpses up as a barricade, in order to make them change their minds. If they ever have to choose this option I would want to be there with them, or holding their hands, but laws that are in effect now mean that my daughters would have to undergo the procedure alone, after numerous questioning, ultrasounds, tests, and pressures. I could only offer my love and support from afar.

I wish there was more I could do or say, but for now I will cuddle my children close, and pray that the world they come of age in is better than this.

About darkbookworm13

I am a proud mom to 3 beautiful girls, and married to the love of my life. I have been a practicing Witch since the summer of 2003, having studied many different paths over the years, ranging from Wicca, Goddess only worship (courtesy of StarHawk), Eclectic Paganism, Kitchen Witchcraft, Norse Paganism, Hearthcraft, Spiritual Luciferianism, and more. I have worked with the Futhark runes, Brian Froud's Faeries Oracle deck, Tarot decks, and I am currently working on a customized divination set based on collected items. I like to work with herbs, and gardening. I crochet and make handicrafts like wood burned items, paintings, drawings, toys, and hand sewn doll clothes for my daughters. The only title I call my spiritual path is Witchcraft, as using magic entwines deeply with the worship of the Gods who call me Their own. My Patron deity is Loki, who has chosen me as His kin.
This entry was posted in Abuse, Pain, PTSD, Rant, The Past and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Rant

  1. Raven says:

    I am so glad I had a hysterectomy. I only have one disagreement: If only the government is allowed to have guns- history has proven that to be a precursor to such things as tthe third Reich and the establishment of the USSR- both of which left their citizens powerless against their governments.

    Every other issue you stated: Dead on!

  2. I understand a lot of the outrage from parents, especially those that had already lost a child to gun violence. I just recently got married, and I now have a 6 year old step daughter; that paranoia about child safety has become something I understand. At the same time? Switzerland mandates that all able-bodied men within a certain age range must join the national guard, know how to use an assault rifle, and keep one within their homes. Not surprisingly, crime rates are pretty damn low. Somewhat surprising is the United Kingdom’s extremely high crime rate…as they’ve banned firearms altogether.

    It’s not fire arms; it’s people. Specifically, how we teach our people. How we frame violence and mental illness in our society. What we do to address or avoid mental health issues. What we do to help or hinder those on the edge. I’m not in favor of guns as much as I am in favor of addressing some potentially bigger issues that I feel have more to do with problems of violence then weapons.

    Aside of that? Yes; the laws which govern abortion, rape, and many other related issues are, to use a technical term, FUBAR.

    • I agree that it is the underlying issues regarding guns that worries me most, not the guns themselves. it just pisses me off that so many launched rants or spewed hatred at the idea of controlling access to the types of guns that were used at the Batman movie premiere, or the Sandy Hook shooting.

      Instead of being outraged over the people killed, the innocent children who were mowed down like weeds, that response boggles the mind…

      FUBAR is quite right, much shorter and concise.

  3. Twitchy Witch says:

    I’m not a big fan of guns, but I can see their fear of losing them. The people that use them illegally or use them to kill aren’t the ones protesting. Because they’re going to have them no matter what so the protests have no bearing on them.

    The rape? I think, hun, you might have given me my own rant for the day. I agree whole heartedly. The comments people make in defense of rapists anger me almost as much as the ignorant comments made about our religion. Makes me consider going on my own gun-toting spree through groups of sign-holders. We need a new island to put people on. People that are incapable of using logic in their reasoning. Our own IQ test made to test the level of ignorance a person uses to determine their every day decisions… Put them on an island… with a live volcano…

    • I know that a criminal will always find a way to procure weapons, I just wanted to vent at the lack of compassion shown towards the people killed. From what I understand the newer gun control laws would limit magazine capacity, and make it more difficult to obtain assault rifles or military grade guns. Not hunting rifles or hand guns, only creating background checks and a waiting period mandatory so that someone who is mentally ill, a criminal, or desiring to use the gun for nefarious reasons would have to WAIT to be cleared to have the weapon.

      If they have nothing to hide, they should have no reason to worry about going through the proper channels to get a gun if they want one so bad.

      The ranting about rape can be a slippery slope for me due to my past, I have no compassion for the rapist, and believe that serious things need to change in order to make the “rape culture” obsolete. Blaming the victim and putting the responsibility on everyone else instead of on the shoulders of the attacker is a sure fire way to get me spitting fire and swinging an ax at their heads. I imagine your rant would be in the same vein.

      Attacking our religious beliefs is another vent, but it does indeed rile me like little else can.

      • Twitchy Witch says:

        The sad part there is that that whole scenario is beautiful but the people that are doing the shooting don’t have legal weapons to begin with. They are STOLLEN. Or built, homemade, black market, imported. Anything you can think of EXCEPT bought. They’re NOT going through proper channels already. Some of the guns they have are military weapons that CIVILIANS ARE NOT SUPPOSED TO HAVE. And this is now, before these laws. You know where the kids involved in school shootings got their guns? Stollen from people who bought them through proper channels. The people who are pissed about these upcomming laws are the ones that are doing the right thing and will now have a lot of extra work to do it again on guns they already own legally. Limiting the ammount of ammo won’t do much either. There was a cough medicine they pulled off shelves and told people they had to show ID to get them and could only buy 2 boxes at a time. So people would get their friends together and everyone would buy 2. Problem solved… Laws only effect the people that plan on following them.

  4. I know what you mean, it is frustrating fighting the people who are the real problem… Especially when I know that the law abiding people are doing what they should be. *shakes head*

    Headbutting the wall of other people’s fuck ups only gives us the migraines, and they walk away free from consequences…

Leave a Reply

