Nap time dream

My dream was about two ancient tribes of people. My own, who worshiped horses, and played music such as drums to honor our God. I remember spinning in a circle to a drum beat that sounded sort of like hoof beats. We created tools out of metal (bronze I think) and hunted and gathered to survive. We had fluid gender roles, and in summer went about in little to no clothing. 

The second tribe arrived in a ship, traveling along the river near where my tribe lived. They worshiped a rainbow mosaic fish painting that looked like a stained glass window. They called Him Makeko, and were very protective of the painting, not letting anyone touch it. They had come to us for help, but our conflicting Gods make them attack us. Our practices of playing music, dancing, and lifestyle caused them to verbally attack my tribe’s leader, and it led to a fight that soon spun out of control leaving many wounded. Some of the fish tribe were wounded badly, and called out to their God for help. I tried to help them by running to their ship for the painting, but they all fought me, saying that no outside could touch Makeko, and neither could they. They were all bleeding from the fight, and said that they were unclean due to their blood being shed. They had to stand on a hill and feel the sun rise upon them in order to be purified from the bloodshed.

My tribe chased them away and tried to burn the ship, but I argued with them, delaying until a rain storm began. I then rode off on my horse, to meet a girl that had arrived with the fish people, whom I had fallen in love with after she arrived. I reached the grassy hill where we were to meet, and saw a figure in a dark grey cloak. I embraced the figure, believing it to be my beloved, but upon touching her body I realized it was a man. I ran back to my horse, only to awaken with them smell of horses, wet wool, rain and summer grasses in my nose. And the feeling of my hands on a lean, muscular chest instead of soft womanly curves.

I had this dream during an afternoon nap with my 3 month old, and upon awakening, I wrote down everything I could remember. But the one question that haunts me is what the name of my God was in the dream. I have tried to remember, but it was never mentioned. Only the foreign fish God was mentioned by name. I can still see the mosaic artwork that they reverently carried like a newborn child, as if colored by a light beam through a prism. My tribes God was represented by primitive paintings on leather in earthy colors, with red outlines tracing the shape of a horse that would have lived during an ice age long ago. I want to try and paint a picture to try and capture that image burned into my mind, and tapping into the Spirit of Horse who has gotten my attention.

About darkbookworm13

I am a proud mom to 3 beautiful girls, and married to the love of my life. I have been a practicing Witch since the summer of 2003, having studied many different paths over the years, ranging from Wicca, Goddess only worship (courtesy of StarHawk), Eclectic Paganism, Kitchen Witchcraft, Norse Paganism, Hearthcraft, Spiritual Luciferianism, and more. I have worked with the Futhark runes, Brian Froud's Faeries Oracle deck, Tarot decks, and I am currently working on a customized divination set based on collected items. I like to work with herbs, and gardening. I crochet and make handicrafts like wood burned items, paintings, drawings, toys, and hand sewn doll clothes for my daughters. The only title I call my spiritual path is Witchcraft, as using magic entwines deeply with the worship of the Gods who call me Their own. My Patron deity is Loki, who has chosen me as His kin.
This entry was posted in Dreams, Music, Personal Gnosis, Spirituality, Worship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nap time dream

  1. very very interesting 🙂 I’d really like to see what you come up with painting wise?

  2. thorfinna says:

    Fantastic dream, and I am amazed at your detailed recollection. It must have been a message you are supposed to remember, though the horse god(dess) wishes to remain unknown for now.

    • Thank you, I can’t always remember my dreams, so I believe that you are right, it was a message for me. I haven’t had another dream of the Horse Spirit yet, but I am keeping my mind and my heart open for it when it happens. I have felt inspired to paint or draw the images from my dream, hoping to find some time soon to start working on it.

      I will post pictures of the work in progress, as well as the finished artwork too.

Leave a Reply

