Gardening and other adventures in yard work…

I have learned that I have become soft in my winter-long break from the outdoors. I also learned that I need a hat for any yard work, or a much shorter haircut, because long, flowing tresses only get yanked on by tree branches and blown into my eyes. I love how nature has its ways of keeping me humble, and the visions of ethereal spells in long robes, long flowing hair, and lack of dirt are promptly shattered in a glorious, messy fashion.

The yard was a wreck of broken branches, 3 in. long fir needles, pine cones, and a failed attempt at composting in our front flowerbed. Today I had had enough of the eyesore that our lawn had become, and decided it was time for an overhaul of epic proportions.

I managed to rake up most of the debris in the flowerbed, and found several stones hidden within the mess to save and paint with my girls later.

*Score*

I also discovered that after several days of playing outside in the yard, our oldest had collected a sizable pile of tree bark planks, branches, portions of sod or mossy grass, and everything combined created a messy, dusty pile of “bleh”. The pile had originally been a group of 3 fairy houses, but rain, malicious kicks, local wildlife, and time had not been kind to them. So I trooped with the rake around trying to pull the pile towards the treeline out front, and the handle of my rake snapped in two. Granted, it was a second-hand rake from my dad, but it was still unexpected.

>_<

I was able to keep raking with the surviving half, but realized that the rake had peeled back a chunk of skin the size of a dime on the web of my right thumb as I reached my stamina’s stopping point… Which hurts like only a salty, sweat soaked blister can. It is bandaged and anointed with antibiotic cream, but I had felt disappointed in my lack of strength to “do more” or be more than I am . But I know that with time, I can be out there, in the dirt and nature in no time. As long as I let my hand heal first.

Perhaps once my hand heals, I can paint up those rocks with my daughters and decorate with them. But for now I am back to less strenuous tasks, even if I am chomping at the bit for more.

*sigh*

About darkbookworm13

I am a proud mom to 3 beautiful girls, and married to the love of my life. I have been a practicing Witch since the summer of 2003, having studied many different paths over the years, ranging from Wicca, Goddess only worship (courtesy of StarHawk), Eclectic Paganism, Kitchen Witchcraft, Norse Paganism, Hearthcraft, Spiritual Luciferianism, and more. I have worked with the Futhark runes, Brian Froud's Faeries Oracle deck, Tarot decks, and I am currently working on a customized divination set based on collected items. I like to work with herbs, and gardening. I crochet and make handicrafts like wood burned items, paintings, drawings, toys, and hand sewn doll clothes for my daughters. The only title I call my spiritual path is Witchcraft, as using magic entwines deeply with the worship of the Gods who call me Their own. My Patron deity is Loki, who has chosen me as His kin.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Humor, Nature, Personal Gnosis, Spirituality, Wildcrafting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

