A lesson in patience…

I have been working on a few crafty projects these past few days, and one of them has had be chomping the bit to get on with it, even though it isn’t something I can rush. I have taken the initiative in building myself a better drum. Including soaking the head and getting the proper lacing.

I had originally been given a plastic skinned drum with some kind of composite frame, but it just didn’t feel right. It has weird springs attached inside to make a rasping sound, and they had to go. The edging along the skin was cracking, so I peeled off the whole mess and washing the remaining circle. I had a piece of leather that was gifted to me, and I trimmed it to fit, a bit smaller than all the tutorials say to make it, but I had cut it for something else first. It just happened to lay perfectly on the drum, and the rest they say, is history.

I had looked online on how to make a skin drum, and found how to punch holes along the edge of the leather, then soak it in water for 24 hours before stretching and lacing it onto the frame. Easy enough right?

Wrong…

I forgot to factor into this brilliant idea how much I hate to wait. If I order something, I hate waiting for it in the mail. If my food is cooling, I scorch my mouth a few times (at least) before it is edible. Setting up the bowl containing the leather and water (weighed down with a crystal egg I had sitting on a shelf) and leaving it overnight was one of the most agonizing waits I have ever been through.

While out shopping today I picked up a rawhide dog toy, my idea is that the rawhide that is made into chew toys and wasted is similar enough to be used for my drum. My hope is to soak it as well, and see if I can stretch it out, cut it into laces, and possibly a circle for the other side of my drum. I don’t know how it will turn out, but my other options were braiding hemp into a rope and lacing it, trying to use the leather scraps, or buying leather shoe laces… 

So now they are both soaking, and I am eagerly awaiting the time when I get to create this for myself. While I have been waiting I have been doing my best to work on other projects, I have started sewing a leather bag for my collection, and cleaned up a piece of faux leather to make into a casting cloth. I want to sew along the edge in red, and paint onto the fabric with different colors to denote areas of interest when I cast my “bones” onto it.

My hand is still healing, so I haven’t been able to sand or burn any of the wood that has made its way into my collection, but once I am better enough, I will be working on those next. I also have plans to make a bunch of stuff to sell at an upcoming fair, including clay pendants, wooden wands, wooden rune sets, cloth bags, crocheted toys, and whatever else comes to mind.

All of this to keep the impatient Id version of me distracted long enough to let the water do its magic. 

*sigh*

 

About darkbookworm13

I am a proud mom to 3 beautiful girls, and married to the love of my life. I have been a practicing Witch since the summer of 2003, having studied many different paths over the years, ranging from Wicca, Goddess only worship (courtesy of StarHawk), Eclectic Paganism, Kitchen Witchcraft, Norse Paganism, Hearthcraft, Spiritual Luciferianism, and more. I have worked with the Futhark runes, Brian Froud's Faeries Oracle deck, Tarot decks, and I am currently working on a customized divination set based on collected items. I like to work with herbs, and gardening. I crochet and make handicrafts like wood burned items, paintings, drawings, toys, and hand sewn doll clothes for my daughters. The only title I call my spiritual path is Witchcraft, as using magic entwines deeply with the worship of the Gods who call me Their own. My Patron deity is Loki, who has chosen me as His kin.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Creativity, Music, Offerings, Personal Gnosis, Reworking Old Stuff, Spirituality, Wildcrafting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

