A gift of a skull

My mom dropped off the skull for me today, it is currently soaking in a bucket of hot bleach water in our shed, once it is clean I will be working with it more. For now, I have to practice more patience.

The skull is missing the lower jaw and teeth, including one canine, but I talked to it, and carefully placed it into the bucket to begin cleaning it.  It smelled mostly of old dirt, and dust, and is the color of wet newspaper. I got a faint sense of Someone there, but the age and coloring of the bones tell me that the spirit of the raccoon may have passed on. I am approaching this as if the spirit is still there, trying to handle the skull gently, whispering a greeting and reassurance when I removed it from the bag (I found myself using the “awww cute animal” voice that I have found most animals cause me to revert to).

My mom kept trying to ask me why I wanted it, and seems to just accept my “weird” desire to collect bones, as long as I clean them properly. Last night I asked her online if she had it, and she joked that yes, she did, and it was tasty. She asked me what I wanted it for, and I told her I wanted it for bone soup. She then immediately logged off, and disappeared without another word. I called the house to see what was up, I had visions of her in the backyard with the skull in a hole, after calling a young priest, and an old priest, while splashing it with holy water and praying.

Luckily that was not the case, she had only logged off to move from her laptop upstairs to the desktop downstairs. She laughed at me for thinking that, but honestly I don’t know whether my imaginings were that far off the mark. She once threw a huge fit because I was reading Tarot cards in her house, so nowadays I can’t tell which I will get. The woman who gets me crystals, smudge sticks, branches to make rune sets or vines to weave into a pentacle. Or the woman who says I brought demons into her home by reading books on Paganism, and decides to cast them out by burning all of my books, a wand kit, and a kid’s book on Wizards that my ex’s family got me because they thought that I needed it.

Anyways, enough trips down memory lane, I don’t need the hassle. While I wait for my drum to finish drying, and for my skull to bleach, I have been sewing the new home for my collection, but I need to redo the bottom. It is the wrong shape and makes the pouch too boxy.

About darkbookworm13

I am a proud mom to 3 beautiful girls, and married to the love of my life. I have been a practicing Witch since the summer of 2003, having studied many different paths over the years, ranging from Wicca, Goddess only worship (courtesy of StarHawk), Eclectic Paganism, Kitchen Witchcraft, Norse Paganism, Hearthcraft, Spiritual Luciferianism, and more. I have worked with the Futhark runes, Brian Froud's Faeries Oracle deck, Tarot decks, and I am currently working on a customized divination set based on collected items. I like to work with herbs, and gardening. I crochet and make handicrafts like wood burned items, paintings, drawings, toys, and hand sewn doll clothes for my daughters. The only title I call my spiritual path is Witchcraft, as using magic entwines deeply with the worship of the Gods who call me Their own. My Patron deity is Loki, who has chosen me as His kin.
This entry was posted in Bones, Crafts, Creativity, Nature, Personal Gnosis, Reworking Old Stuff, Spirits, Spirituality, Uncategorized, Wildcrafting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A gift of a skull

  1. SpidrGoddess says:

    I have often joked that those who know and love me give me dead things. This is not too far off the mark, however. My friends regularly bring me beasties that are in need of ceremony and releasing. Most recently, a coyote came to live with us. His spirit is finally at rest, but he did require a number of things from myself and the friend that helped me bring him home.

    Enjoy your raccoon skull.

    • I understand what you mean. My family has seemed to accept it more and more, bringing me all sorts of interesting stuff. This is the first skull, but I asked my sister to keep an eye out for anymore.

      I am excited and also a little in awe at these things speaking to me, I feel very humbled by them seeking me out. I want to offer the best I can to them and either help send them to rest, or keep them with me to be honored with offerings of food, drink and sacred things. I am glad I am not the only one who feels drawn to bones and such.

      I think I need to sit down and see which Death Goddess or God is trying to get my attention now. I know I felt drawn to Hel, but hadn’t taken the time to work on it. I think it is time now.

      Thanks for reading my blog, glad it spoke to you ^_^

Leave a Reply

