A day in devotion and life

I have noticed several people whose blogs and articles that I enjoy sharing their daily devotions or a peek into their lives honoring their Gods.

I want to share my own practice, but be prepared because for the most part my day is focused on my children, husband, daily needs, etc. Here it goes…

I wake up, usually between the times of 8-9:30 am, depending on when my co-sleeping boobie monster N and 2 1/2 year old C wake up, and change my youngest daughter, possibly nurse her one more time with cuddles thrown in, and cuddle my toddler while my husband comes up to help bring everyone downstairs for breakfast and whatnot. We wrestle C into a fresh diaper, clean clothing, and through a meal. I nurse N again, and put her into her bouncy seat or Daddy’s arms while I eat.

I try to make myself something that is share-able, and give a portion of it into the offering dishes on top of our fridge to Loki and His kin. Hot tea is something my husband and I enjoy, so to fortify ourselves with libations to honor the Goddess Caffeina, we each have some, and leave a portion in a mug or cup for an offering next to the food. After I eat I check the other offering dishes (I have 6 I think at last head count) and refill the water glass I leave out everyday.

After food (sometimes eaten quickly while bouncing a cranky baby) I settle on the couch while we watch Sesame Street or other movie chosen by C, and start up my laptop for the day. I have a basket of crafts and projects next to me, and I try to choose one to finish at a time, but it is hard with my attention span to stay on only one. I check Facebook for any important updates, check the groups I joined for any special posts, and nurse N again. Once it is time for late morning nap for N, I attempt to lay her down and check on laundry, chores, diapers, and snatch a bathroom break if needed (C likes to shout for me if I am out of the room, waking up her baby sister >_<)

As I try to work on different chores in the house, I focus my intentions in cleansing away grime and bleh leftover from bad dreams, illnesses, arguing, etc. as I wipe down, start laundry, get my crock-pot started with dinner, or other stuff needed around the house. I struggle with chronic fatigue and pain, so sometimes all I have energy for is the bare minimum. Other days I have the entire downstairs cleaned, swept, mopped, and tidied.

During my breaks, and frequent nursing sessions with N, I scope out new blog posts by people I enjoy learning about or from, studying prayers others have written to honor Loki, save different artwork I find inspiring to my laptop to use later (I am a bit of a hoarder when it comes to interesting artwork, photos, crafting ideas, patterns, etc.)

I carry a small strand of gemstone beads in my pocket, and throughout the day I use them when voicing a simple prayer of thanks, as a focal point to distract me from pain, to calm myself if I begin to feel overwhelmed by anxiety or stress, as a reminder that my life is governed by Chaos and not let myself stress out about not being in control.

During morning nap C enjoys being able to dance and count with Elmo, or watching Kermit fight pirates as she plays in the living room. We have an abundance of toys, books, coloring pages, stuffed animals and blocks that she likes to play with in a whirlwind that leaves our living room looking like a battle field at bedtime.

We stop movie time and playtime for lunch, and then attempt nap time for C. Sometimes she sleeps easily, but other times she refuses, and then falls asleep in our arms. During the school year our eldest daughter J arrives home as nap time ends, and then J plays with C after snacks and homework. If my husband works that night, he goes to sleep at around this time, and I finish dinner prep. I also check on laundry again, and have J help with moving loads through so I don’t have to bend down constantly. The girls play while N is in her seat either watching them, or with me in the kitchen, and once dinner is ready then the feasting begins (according to J, she loves my cooking.)

As I serve myself dinner, I make sure to leave a portion in the offering dishes, and balance eating with nursing N. Then it is time for dessert, more playing, and bed time routine for J (who has ADHD and Generalized Anxiety Disorder, and needs a consistent schedule every day). After she gets tucked in, usually with a song, or her special prayers, it is just C and N who need my husband and I. We relax on the couch as C plays some more, and N is passed between us for cuddles, nursing time with Mama, and playing.

Most nights we try to pick a different movie that WE also like, including Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (yes we are Geeks :D) and my husband sometimes writes while I read, play with the girls or sew. We switch places in playing with the girls because lifting a 12 lb baby constantly is exhausting, let alone chasing a whirling dervish. Bed time rolls around, and we wrangle everyone upstairs with the hopes of being in bed by 11:30 pm at the latest (yes I know that is late, but it is hard to get all the energy out of C sooner than that.)

After brushing teeth, singing songs, and me taking my medications to sleep we are all in bed. I tuck my beads into my pillowcase and offer more prayers of thanks, and relief from being in pain before attempting to sleep. I suffer from insomnia, so sleeping deeply is a challenge.

This is my usual day-to-day routine, with slight variations if we have doctor’s appointments, grocery shopping to do, or if the weather and my Fibro aren’t acting up too much then we get to spend time outside going for walks or playing in the yard. During these walks outside I show my girls different plants, explain how the trees grow, point out animals or birds, and collect different trinkets or objects found for magic. I also try to clean up the trash in my neighborhood when walking, and encourage others to do the same.

About darkbookworm13

I am a proud mom to 3 beautiful girls, and married to the love of my life. I have been a practicing Witch since the summer of 2003, having studied many different paths over the years, ranging from Wicca, Goddess only worship (courtesy of StarHawk), Eclectic Paganism, Kitchen Witchcraft, Norse Paganism, Hearthcraft, Spiritual Luciferianism, and more. I have worked with the Futhark runes, Brian Froud's Faeries Oracle deck, Tarot decks, and I am currently working on a customized divination set based on collected items. I like to work with herbs, and gardening. I crochet and make handicrafts like wood burned items, paintings, drawings, toys, and hand sewn doll clothes for my daughters. The only title I call my spiritual path is Witchcraft, as using magic entwines deeply with the worship of the Gods who call me Their own. My Patron deity is Loki, who has chosen me as His kin.
This entry was posted in Deities, Family, Loki, Magic, Nature, Offerings, Personal Gnosis, Prayer, Spirituality, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A day in devotion and life

  1. chaos incarnate says:

    Good to know I’m not the only one cleaning the earth. So do you have a time period that you specifically spend with loki? Or because your a mom with mom duties you spread it out?
    I enjoy hearing what people do for devotion, I believe that it’s important. I my self think I need to improve with this sort of thing and finding good center between life and whatever.

    • I have to spread out the time I spend with Loki through the whole day. I started to explain in detail what sorts of offerings I make and to Whom they go, but I realized this is a perfect next blog post, thank you for inspiring it.

Leave a Reply

