Crafty Stuff and Pictures (finally)

To commemorate my 50th post, I wanted to share some of what I have been up to, instead of only talking about it. Our memory card adapter had walked off awhile ago, and I finally got to borrow my sister’s camera to take some pictures of the different crafts I have been working on.

First off is my Drum, named Sa’Voh (still a WIP, but slowly getting there)

This is my drum, compared to my hand. The leather is darker than this, a rich brown.

This shows the size of Her, about the size of a small dinner plate. She has a nice sound and feels “right” when I hold her.

 

A better view of the drum skin, modeled by my husband

The leather is a rich brown, still soft after all the work done to it. I have started drawing and painting artwork to adorn Sa’Voh, going to add sigils and pictographs to dedicate Her further.

Side view to show the lacing details.

The lacing is hemp twine, still smells like wet rope, LOL.

Back view, with close up on the handle

This is the back, the handle is rawhide wrapped around the center of the lacing, with two circles of leather sewn over it to protect my hand while I play it. This same leather is used in the leather bag I sewed as well, to provide a connection between my tools.

A clearer view of the lacing modeled by my lovely husband.

The spaces between fit my grip quite nicely, I plan on wrapping the lacing in pieces of sheepskin painted with pictographs and figures to add to the music and Magic as I drum.

I also have a wooden handle that came off a well loved kitchen tool that I plan on sanding, wood burning, painting, and making into a beater for my drum. I also have a white sage smudge stick that was a gift that I plan on using to dedicate Sa’Voh once She is finally done.

 

I also wanted to share the bag I had worked on for my collection. The brown fabric isn’t true leather, but the texture and feeling is a nice contrast.

This is the front of the bag, showing the black leather and brown fabric.

The black leather is from a journal that fell apart, and the brown is the same used for my drum handle.

Side view of the drawstring area, each slit hemmed with red or burgundy thread.

I used red and burgundy thread to hem the edge of the bag, and each slit to add to the Magic of the bag, as well as to protect the fabric.

Another view of the different colors used.

Here you can see the red thread used on the black leather more clearly. There are 9 slits in total in the black sides, for the 9 realms of the World Tree Yggdrasil.

This is the sheepskin lining the bottom of the bag, between the layers there is dried Mugwort to aid in my divination.

The sheepskin was found in the automotive section of the store as polishing wipes for cars. But I decided my Collection needed a soft place to lay, so I sewed this into the bag. I plan on painting the leather later on, to protect my Collection, as well as to bind Them to me.

 

My next step for Sa’Voh  is to paint and draw designs onto the skin, sew a strip of sheepskin around the edge (with symbols and figures painted/drawn onto it) and to hang charms and beads from Her to dedicate Her for use. I traced around the outermost circumference with a brown marker, and will add a little bit at a time (during naps mostly)

My next step with my bag, after I draw on the lining, is to braid a drawstring out of different cords and hang charms or beads from the ends. I also want to sew beads onto the sides, as well as the bottom to seal the protection and binding sigils.

Thank you for joining me on this journey, I have enjoyed sharing my path with you.

About darkbookworm13

I am a proud mom to 3 beautiful girls, and married to the love of my life. I have been a practicing Witch since the summer of 2003, having studied many different paths over the years, ranging from Wicca, Goddess only worship (courtesy of StarHawk), Eclectic Paganism, Kitchen Witchcraft, Norse Paganism, Hearthcraft, Spiritual Luciferianism, and more. I have worked with the Futhark runes, Brian Froud's Faeries Oracle deck, Tarot decks, and I am currently working on a customized divination set based on collected items. I like to work with herbs, and gardening. I crochet and make handicrafts like wood burned items, paintings, drawings, toys, and hand sewn doll clothes for my daughters. The only title I call my spiritual path is Witchcraft, as using magic entwines deeply with the worship of the Gods who call me Their own. My Patron deity is Loki, who has chosen me as His kin.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Creativity, Deities, Magic, Music, Personal Gnosis, Reworking Old Stuff, Spells, Spirituality, Wildcrafting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

