4th of July malarkey

I have always thought that the whole 4th of July thing was weird. I mean, I liked the “poppers” and sparklers but the firework shows always seemed silly and pretentious. So this year my family and I planned on doing nothing for the 4th like fireworks or parties (being broke helps curtail any excess festivities), but I had worried about the huge number of locals who would find great joy in setting off tons of fireworks, and having loud parties.

So at about 5:30-6:00 pm, (I think, I am bad at remembering time) I sat in the kitchen eating a chocolate dipped ice cream cone (I was hiding from my kids, or I wouldn’t get to eat any of it), and before I took a bite, I offered it to Loki. I silently wished that the 4th related stuff would get rained out, and savored the ice cream, leaving the end of the cone with all the chocolate (my favorite part) in Loki’s offering dish.

As soon as the cone was in the dish, a huge thunderstorm blew in. It was the loudest I have heard in awhile, and was right over the house. My two youngest daughters were quite alarmed by the loud noises and I spent at least 30 minutes cuddling them as the storm blew itself out. Now it is almost 9 pm and there were no fireworks going off at all.

Drat, I spoke too soon. The neighbors are having them go off as I write this.

I guess I got my wish, for at least a little while. Now I am off to pour Loki and Thor a hard cider in thanks for the storm. If not a peaceful night’s sleep.

About darkbookworm13

I am a proud mom to 3 beautiful girls, and married to the love of my life. I have been a practicing Witch since the summer of 2003, having studied many different paths over the years, ranging from Wicca, Goddess only worship (courtesy of StarHawk), Eclectic Paganism, Kitchen Witchcraft, Norse Paganism, Hearthcraft, Spiritual Luciferianism, and more. I have worked with the Futhark runes, Brian Froud's Faeries Oracle deck, Tarot decks, and I am currently working on a customized divination set based on collected items. I like to work with herbs, and gardening. I crochet and make handicrafts like wood burned items, paintings, drawings, toys, and hand sewn doll clothes for my daughters. The only title I call my spiritual path is Witchcraft, as using magic entwines deeply with the worship of the Gods who call me Their own. My Patron deity is Loki, who has chosen me as His kin.
This entry was posted in Deities, Holidays, Loki, Nature, Offerings, Spirituality, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

