Loki day 21

I had struggled to think of a topic to write about today, but landed on an unexpected idea while looking at a pantheon of Gods I knew little about. The ancient Egyptian ones, specifically Isis had intrigued me after talking with my brother earlier about his beliefs. He told me that he really struggled with the different parts of Wicca, and that it just felt “not quite right”.

On a whim I asked him what sorts of Gods appealed to him, and listed off several: the Greek, the Roman, the Norse (going into great detail about my relationship with Loki, I had to pull myself off the soapbox after a bit because my husband and I both began discussing the ‘Month for Loki’ offering, the attitude of some Heathens, etc.) as well as the aspects of the Wiccan duality. Once I said Egyptian, he perked right up, and began asking all kinds of questions about Them, so I went to the Almighty Google for the answers I didn’t know. I was able to find some info for him to study, and found a blog post that tells a story about Isis being one of the few female trickster deities.

Isis lore found here

In reading this, my mind was awash with the comparison made in this to the many male trickster deities that abound, including Loki. The ability to change appearance, gender, speech, or other traits to do what needs to be done is an incredible feat for any God/dess affiliated with this kind of alignment, and one that often wins the deity no favors or thanks for the sacrifices made during these acts.

It is ultimately a tough job that only those who can harness vast stores of courage, humor, ingenuity and magic are able to use for the benefit of what needs to be done. I envision all the different Gods sitting in a coffee shop during Their off-hours to discuss everything, trade ideas, or just bitch about how no one really sees all the hard work that They do in order to keep the world turning on its axis.

I am glad They do work so hard, I am thankful for the chaos and lessons that I have been given. On another note, my beads are finally done. Tomorrow I will post pictures of them (they are awesome, and work so well ^_^)

Hail Loki, Whose job is difficult, hard to bear, and often thankless. I hail You in all your different guises, masks, personas, and appearances. Thank you for helping me learn the skills of ingenuity that You use so well, and the lengths You go to with each step.

About darkbookworm13

I am a proud mom to 3 beautiful girls, and married to the love of my life. I have been a practicing Witch since the summer of 2003, having studied many different paths over the years, ranging from Wicca, Goddess only worship (courtesy of StarHawk), Eclectic Paganism, Kitchen Witchcraft, Norse Paganism, Hearthcraft, Spiritual Luciferianism, and more. I have worked with the Futhark runes, Brian Froud's Faeries Oracle deck, Tarot decks, and I am currently working on a customized divination set based on collected items. I like to work with herbs, and gardening. I crochet and make handicrafts like wood burned items, paintings, drawings, toys, and hand sewn doll clothes for my daughters. The only title I call my spiritual path is Witchcraft, as using magic entwines deeply with the worship of the Gods who call me Their own. My Patron deity is Loki, who has chosen me as His kin.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Creativity, Deities, Isis, Loki, Magic, Month for Loki, Offerings, Personal Gnosis, Reading, Spirituality, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

