Loki day 25

Today has been a both hectic and enjoyable. We had to drive to the next town for a med clinic appointment for our eldest daughter, and then got to enjoy a nice day out with our family. We had lunch, visited one store and found some awesome discounted books, and I got to skulk about the bead section of Joann Fabrics, finding some shinies to bring home. So now I have more beads with which to run through my fingers like The One Ring in Gollum’s scenes. BEADS…. MY PRECIOUS….

After we arrived home I decided to read some more of my new book The Jotunbook. I finished reading the introduction by Raven Kaldera, and page 22’s lines

Hail the North Wind, bitter with frost,

Hail the fire that leaps and bites, 

Hail the oceans that birth and devour,

Hail the mountains that rise to the sky,

Hail to our brother beasts that run,

Hail the Wights who are the gateways to all of Nature.

sent shivers down my back making my tattoo start burning.

This is my Raven feather tattoo, I have come to see it as a symbol of the intelligence and other traits of the Corvid family, especially to honor the crows who follow me all over (usually several)

Given that it isn’t a new tattoo (in 2009), and I was nowhere near a heat lamp or other heat source, it was definitely odd. It felt like Someone was running fingers of flame along the edges of my tattoo. I am still not completely certain what it means, but I am keeping my mind and heart open to anything Loki has to tell me.

I was reminded that last night the book opened randomly, to the section discussing Loki as the mother of all Witches when He ate Gulveig’s heart, then birthing hordes of Troll-women. The book theorized that perhaps this piece of lore was rewritten as a way for Loki to be further demonized, for His connection to “monstrous children” as well as His gender fluidity, making Him and any children He sires or births evil, because obviously any God who could become a woman willingly (in the church’s eyes) must be evil. /sarcasm

This makes sense if you consider the translated word for the daughters Loki bore actually means an ogress, giantess, witch, or she-wolf. Him being able to become a mother Who bears uncontrollable feminine creatures who would overthrow the control the church would otherwise have. We all know how much they hate losing control.

The imagery of Loki finding Gulveig’s heart is one of grief and pain, I see Him as Her lover, and in losing Her, tries to keep one small piece of Her for comfort. Then using that piece to create a race of daughters who honor Her memory, even if it meant He had to bear these daughters for Gulveig. The word translating to mean Witch also struck close to my heart, as this is an important part of my belief system, and using spells is one way I honor my Gods.

The images of flames keep filling my mind’s eye, and the crackle echoes in my ears.

Hail Loki, the flame haired One, by Your fire I am devoured and reborn.

About darkbookworm13

I am a proud mom to 3 beautiful girls, and married to the love of my life. I have been a practicing Witch since the summer of 2003, having studied many different paths over the years, ranging from Wicca, Goddess only worship (courtesy of StarHawk), Eclectic Paganism, Kitchen Witchcraft, Norse Paganism, Hearthcraft, Spiritual Luciferianism, and more. I have worked with the Futhark runes, Brian Froud's Faeries Oracle deck, Tarot decks, and I am currently working on a customized divination set based on collected items. I like to work with herbs, and gardening. I crochet and make handicrafts like wood burned items, paintings, drawings, toys, and hand sewn doll clothes for my daughters. The only title I call my spiritual path is Witchcraft, as using magic entwines deeply with the worship of the Gods who call me Their own. My Patron deity is Loki, who has chosen me as His kin.
This entry was posted in Deities, Fire, Gulveig, Loki, Month for Loki, Personal Gnosis, Reading, Spirituality, Tattoo, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Loki day 25

  1. moonfire2012 says:

    What touches me most about Gulveig, is that She gave Loki her life so He could give Her life back through their progeny. A gift for a gift.It is overwhelming.

  2. I’ve always had the belief that Loki did that out of love and grief too. I know Loki loves children and is immensely proud of all His kids whether he played that part of mother or father in their birth. I think Loki may have been giving the world the gifts that would eventually swing the balance of power back from the Christianity to Paganism.

Leave a Reply

