Stuff and a possible flu virus

I am feeling really under the weather today, but didn’t want my writing to languish more than it already has been. I started a blog post last week about a really hectic day with the kids, followed by a heavy college course schedule, and ending up with me passed out for a few hours once I got home.

I just summarized that entire post, and for this past week I couldn’t get the words out. I don’t know why, but for some reason it just wouldn’t flow.

And it was driving me mad.

That post even contained some humorous and amusing musings while either ODed on coffee mixed with soda, or during the moments where I was crashing so hard I thought I would need to buy timeshares in Australia.

I barely remember a majority of the day, the classes I took, or what we went over. I only remember after my 2nd cup of coffee I had the shakes as if I had started smoking again. Not to mention certain *ahem* intestinal problems that arose after my math class, I could barely function to get to my Business Law class that afternoon.

So all in all, not a fun day by any means.

Ah fuck it, here is the other post to read over, at least my insanity will be remembered for others to learn from.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Monday was sort of a snowballing clusterfuck of sleep deprivation, homework, and general insanity from the start.

I struggled to stay asleep the same way an ice cube might try to resist a butane torch.

Yes, I try to wax poetic in weird ways whenever I am so tired I start to hallucinate an argument against whatever I say…

My two youngest goblins decided to start their day ranging between the times 3:30 am and 5 am, my youngest decided that the only thing that could possibly make the morning complete was to thrash about smacking any of my body parts that were closest to her, crying randomly while still asleep, and then lapsing back into unconsciousness as if nothing happened.

This would have been funny, except for the bouncy ball sized fists rendering my humor-meter obsolete.

All while I laid there in shock and bleary eyed confusion, trying to piece together exactly what the circumstances of waking up were, and how to fall back asleep.

It seemed every time I would begin to doze off, the cycle would start all over again, creating a vicious loop that even the Greek Gods would consider cruel and unusual punishment.

My youngest’s reign of terror was exacerbated at about 5am when my 3 year old woke up, and decided it was a brilliant flash of awesomeness to loom over me in the darkened bedroom, in an attempt to no doubt shock me awake, possibly to be able to retrieve chocolate milk and jelly beans for her from the kitchen, but we will never know.

All forms of communication were halted as I jerked awake yet again, adrenaline burning away any wisps of sleep, and rendered my mind’s functioning into what I like to call my “zombie apocalypse mindset”.

I had to restrain myself from freaking out and grabbing any nearby blunt objects to protect myself with. Luckily reason prevailed, and I didn’t pummel my 3 year old with anything. I merely blinked away any panic, and tried to convince her to lay back down.

Sadly she needed to pee, and that signaled it was time to get up for the day. I brought her and her youngest sister into the bathroom for a potty break, then downstairs for breakfast. I managed to feed both kids appropriate food items, gave them cups of milk, and fielded any needs until my husband woke up at 7am, with the bare minimum of talking aside from the occasional grunt or muttering.

Unfortunately I wasn’t able to go back to bed due to my college classes, and the impending carpool ride that was bearing down on me like a bullet fired from a lazy gun. I knew I had time to get ready, but it was nowhere near enough to catch a quick nap.

So my logical side made me pack up, eat food, dress without anything inside-out, and ready my mp3 player for the onslaught of “easy listening christian rock” that was usually favored during our jaunts to school.

Instead of the usual insipid worship music, they were busy fighting about something while my female donor tried to argue with me about previous visits that my sister planned without her permission. I denied all responsibility that she tried to foist upon me, and deflected any further attention away from me, and towards her worrying about the math assignments.

She has a nasty habit of leaving everything until the last minute, and rushing through an entire section of math pages so fast that she makes tons of mistakes or forgets everything she has learned. I have learned that anytime I want to avoid talking about stuff, just bring up math, and she goes into panic mode and spends all of that conversation freaking out about how much she hates math.

The rest of the day ended up being a blur overall, and I barely remember most of it. I felt as though I sort of cruised through the day on autopilot, but I couldn’t even remember what I learned in class. The parts that stick out are blips of action spread out into a web that surrounded me, but without really catching my full attention (not that I could have offered it for long anyways.)

My adventure ended in a collapse once I was safely home, and my husband had me go take a nap with our youngest daughter (she was cranky and exhausted too). He not only was completely supportive after all of this, he made sure all the kids were cared for, fed, and healthy when I woke up.

Even after a full day of dealing with them.

He deserves a medal, honestly. And I can’t help but want to brag about him.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Overall, the day was crazy, but I learned a few very important things.

1. Always drink strong tea, never coffee.

2. Always carry my mp3 player for car-rides with certain people.

3. Take lots of notes in Math class, even if I don’t think I need them, just in case.

4. My kids aren’t zombies, no matter how creepy they are in the dark.

5. My husband is awesome, hands down.

Hopefully my cold/flu passes soon, I hate being sick so very much. I was doing really well with not getting sick, and spent the past two days deep-cleaning the house. I rearranged the bathroom, disinfected, stored, and cleansed the whole room. Then I did the same with the kitchen, while washing some dishes, wiping counters, cleaning out all the junk and whatnot that had piled up, and then cooking some dinner.

Then I woke up sick.

Once I am better I plan on getting back to the cleaning, and making sure our home doesn’t turn into a dump. With the length of winter still looming, it is hard not to let the chores pile up into insurmountable obstacles. But we all feel better once I get down to business, so that motivates me to keep going. It pleases the House as well, to know we care for it and keep it well maintained.

Once the weather gets warmer, I plan on getting more cleaned out, and airing out the house to chase away all the blechness that has been building up over the seasons. I also want to strengthen the  wards once spring arrives, to cleanse away the old energies, and revitalize them with the new.

Last week I was also able to work with my drum Savoh again, I not only got to play her, I also got to add some decorations that She seemed to like. I kept feeling drawn to the jingling sound of small bells, but once I started attaching things along her rim, I found a length of gold chain, and jingly charms or metal objects instead. I haven’t found the right kind of bells yet, the only ones we have is from a cat toy and from a metal dragon door hanger, and neither sound right.

I lack a camera to share what Savoh looks like now, but hopefully I will be able to share her new additions soon. I plan on working with her more and more as time goes on, and seeing where she leads me. I have been feeling a very big nudge to attach the prayer bead chain I created to her, but I had been deliberating on it before making the move. It has been an insistent push since I began adding her decorations, so I am pretty sure I’m not misunderstanding what she wants. I just wasn’t sure if I was reading the signs and impressions right. The bead strand is currently wedged underneath the edge of the side table that bears the trunk Savoh lives in, so I can only assume that is a clear “MINE” sign from her.

About darkbookworm13

I am a proud mom to 3 beautiful girls, and married to the love of my life. I have been a practicing Witch since the summer of 2003, having studied many different paths over the years, ranging from Wicca, Goddess only worship (courtesy of StarHawk), Eclectic Paganism, Kitchen Witchcraft, Norse Paganism, Hearthcraft, Spiritual Luciferianism, and more. I have worked with the Futhark runes, Brian Froud's Faeries Oracle deck, Tarot decks, and I am currently working on a customized divination set based on collected items. I like to work with herbs, and gardening. I crochet and make handicrafts like wood burned items, paintings, drawings, toys, and hand sewn doll clothes for my daughters. The only title I call my spiritual path is Witchcraft, as using magic entwines deeply with the worship of the Gods who call me Their own. My Patron deity is Loki, who has chosen me as His kin.
This entry was posted in College, Family, Illness, Kids, Music, Offerings, Personal Gnosis, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stuff and a possible flu virus

  1. Gede Prama says:

    And I love all the posts in this blog really interesting touch words, thank you friend 🙂

Leave a Reply

