I has a sad…

My wonderful husband ordered me the two books I mentioned in another post for Valentine’s Day, DIY Totemism and Skin Spirits by Lupa Greenwolf, and they were supposed to arrive on Saturday.

Due to the weather and the holiday Monday, they were running late, only showing up online as delivered today.

Unfortunately we never got them. The local mail carrier says she left the box between our screen door and front door, but there is no trace of the box now.

She was nice enough to stop by after completing her route to talk to us, and show my husband where she left our package.

 

I checked the snowbanks around the door, the back door, the mailbox, and my husband asked all of our adjoined neighbors if they had received it by accident, but alas. It was nowhere to be found.

My husband has talked to Amazon, and after 7pm tomorrow, we can report them as lost, and be able to get a replacement or refund.

I had to lay down for a nap once we found out the box was lost or stolen, I got an almost instant migraine from the sadness, anger and feeling violated.

I know that this will be resolved, but for now, I just feel sadness wrapped in a feeling of “wrongness” at having something like this happen.

On the heels of that sadness is a raging fury at someone daring to steal from us, and I am not sure what to do about it.

Our mail carrier said this is not the first time packages have gone missing in our neighborhood, it is just the first time for us.

About darkbookworm13

I am a proud mom to 3 beautiful girls, and married to the love of my life. I have been a practicing Witch since the summer of 2003, having studied many different paths over the years, ranging from Wicca, Goddess only worship (courtesy of StarHawk), Eclectic Paganism, Kitchen Witchcraft, Norse Paganism, Hearthcraft, Spiritual Luciferianism, and more. I have worked with the Futhark runes, Brian Froud's Faeries Oracle deck, Tarot decks, and I am currently working on a customized divination set based on collected items. I like to work with herbs, and gardening. I crochet and make handicrafts like wood burned items, paintings, drawings, toys, and hand sewn doll clothes for my daughters. The only title I call my spiritual path is Witchcraft, as using magic entwines deeply with the worship of the Gods who call me Their own. My Patron deity is Loki, who has chosen me as His kin.
This entry was posted in Books, Rant and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I has a sad…

  1. beanalreasa says:

    I am so sorry that this has happened to you. 😦

  2. Ariel says:

    I understand what this is like. Where I used to live people actually broke into our locked mailboxes and stole our mail. I had to get a private mailbox during that time.

    I’m sorry this happened to you. I just got Lupa’s books myself to read. And I got to go to her workshop at PantheaCon. I hope you get the books soon. I’ve only had two issues over the many years with not getting Amazon deliveries. And they have always made good on them. I know what it is like to wait and wait for something that doesn’t show up or is stolen, though. Very disappointing. And it makes me angry too when someone steals my mail. 😦

    Hope you feel better soon and hope you get to read the books as soon as possible too! 🙂

    • Thank you, your support helps a lot. The neighborhood is slowly getting worse, it used to feel safer, but as time goes on, the other people seem to become not only less able to care, but also tainted by living here.

      I am happy (and a teeny bit jealous) you got to attend her workshop, her writing and online posts are so cool. I haunt her DeviantArt profile and her blog for ideas, to learn new things, or just to see her amazing creations.

      I feel better than I did (the flu is receding), and I have been channeling my attentions into other things so I don’t stand by the door waiting for the package. I even looked into our apartment’s dumpster to see if someone stole the box, opened it, and then chucked it when finding only books.

      But it wasn’t there.

      It is a good thing though, otherwise my first foray into dumpster diving would have been a very snowy one, and messy trek back to the house.

Leave a Reply

