People are allowed to have boundaries, especially about who they will and will not worship with. Innangard is important to many heathens. The fact that so many Lokeans refuse to respect these boundaries at face value show exactly what kind of people they are. Many heathens don’t want to be near you. Yes, it is because of who you worship. Get over it. You’re not owed anyone’s respect or kinship.

grimnirs-child:

lokavinr:

The concept on “Innangard” is a joke. It is so uncommon that it is not even present in the Old Norse dictionaries by Zoëga and Fritzner, and occurs in the Cleasby-Vigfússon dictionary with merely one citation to support it: from Pétrs-máldagi, a Christian text. Every time I have seen it occurring in any capacity in Eddic or saga literature it is merely to say “innan garð,” literally, someone is inside the fence at home, with no cosmological, moral, or theoretical implications. Útgarðr occurs as a cosmological concept, but innangarð(r), as far as I have seen, does not.

It is true that there is a sense of the “internal,” “in the house,” in the kin group, etc., but those categories are far more flexible than modern heathens take them to be. For one thing, an adopted family member was as “in the kin group” as anyone else could be, placing Loki firmly “inside” in the context of most Eddic poems and the Snorra Edda.

While I was at the International Congress on Medieval Studies, an older heathen woman tried to use this word in a conceptual sense at a panel hosted by a university from Iceland, and the entire panel stared at her blankly. It has been played up by heathen groups such as AsatruLore, with very little attestation or discussion in academia to support it. The books that do mention this innangarðr-útgarðr division as having any kind of moral or mystical implications are generally fringe theories or scholarly texts that have since been discredited.

In short, “innangard” is essentially something the heathen community has drummed up, made much more fixed and conceptual than it is in actual historical and academic sources, and used to excuse shitty, exclusionary behavior.

Wow, this is actually a really important point I think.

I was unaware that innangard/utangard was something that was largely conceptualised by modern heathens. I always found the explicit setting up of an us-vs-them scenario and the glorification of that to be pretty dysfunctional, but the fact that it’s not even supported in the lore … interesting. 

Like I’m not recon so ‘it’s not in the lore’ isn’t my primary concern, but yeah. That certainly puts a different spin on it if it’s not even a hangover from an ancient society but a modern justification of things …

I am shocked that this is something that seems so firmly entrenched into modern Asatru beliefs as an ancient practice espoused by our ancestors, yet it is a modern reasoning created to ignore crucial deity and interpersonal relationships…

Just shocked I tell ya…

About darkbookworm13

I am a proud mom to 3 beautiful girls, and married to the love of my life. I have been a practicing Witch since the summer of 2003, having studied many different paths over the years, ranging from Wicca, Goddess only worship (courtesy of StarHawk), Eclectic Paganism, Kitchen Witchcraft, Norse Paganism, Hearthcraft, Spiritual Luciferianism, and more. I have worked with the Futhark runes, Brian Froud's Faeries Oracle deck, Tarot decks, and I am currently working on a customized divination set based on collected items. I like to work with herbs, and gardening. I crochet and make handicrafts like wood burned items, paintings, drawings, toys, and hand sewn doll clothes for my daughters. The only title I call my spiritual path is Witchcraft, as using magic entwines deeply with the worship of the Gods who call me Their own. My Patron deity is Loki, who has chosen me as His kin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

